We store cookies, you can get more info from our privacy policy.
Wii

Australia

Wii SNES Classic Controller

by Nicholas Bray - June 4, 2011, 2:58 am PDT
Total comments: 11

9

This controller is retro rad!

For quite some time now, Club Nintendo of Japan has been offering a special Super Famicom controller for the Wii. Back in September of 2010, Europe also was blessed with a replica controller for 7000 stars . And finally Australian Nintendo fans were able to get their hands on one as of last April for a limited time, for the price of 3000 Stars on the rewards website.

The packaging is simple but effective, with the front displaying the controller through a window, and the back featuring art and stylings similar to packaging from the Super Nintendo era.

The controller itself feels exactly as you would expect, although when comparing it to an original, there are a few slight differences. The replica has more of a textured feel to the plastic than the original, and the colour of the printed text on the controller is lighter. The controller is compatible with any virtual console or Wii title that allows you to use the classic controller,although some will not work simply because the SNES controller lacks analog sticks.

As a reward and replica controller, this is just about perfect. For Australian and European Nintendo fans, this should be a must have.

Summary

Pros
  • Effective packaging
  • Exact replica of SNES controller for Wii
Cons
  • Only available for a limited time through rewards site

Images

Talkback

GKJune 04, 2011

This may be an option for those who can't get one & still have an SNES controller laying around.

RazorkidJune 04, 2011

As much as we get here in NA, I can't complain when a few things falls through the cracks. But dammit, I REALLY want that replica. To have the snes games on my Wii play exactly the same with that controller is a dream. It would be great for a platinum status reward this year on Club Nintendo.

CyrianJune 04, 2011

Why does Nintendo hate America?
Also, Traveller, I'm going to be in Sydney for about a month here in a few weeks.  Have you ever seen any of these show up in any second hand stores?  Or are there any good game stores in general you'd recommend (especially anywhere that might have cool Nintendo crap that never made it to the US)?

Kytim89June 04, 2011

http://www.amazon.com/Nintendo-Wii-4--Virtua-Retro-Adapter/dp/B003KMWMOW/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1307201809&sr=8-11

This adapter is much better for using the older controllers on the Wii. The advertisement says that it uses the SNES, NES, Genesis and N64 controllers, but I found that it will also use Master System controller due to it having the sam cable as the Genesis controller.

Mop it upJune 04, 2011

What a tease...

Quote from: Cyrian

Why does Nintendo hate America?
Also, Traveller, I'm going to be in Sydney for about a month here in a few weeks.  Have you ever seen any of these show up in any second hand stores?  Or are there any good game stores in general you'd recommend (especially anywhere that might have cool Nintendo crap that never made it to the US)?

Um, a lot of gaming shops and general toy stores have Mario stuff nowadays. Im not sure of any really cool stores to check out, I actually live in Newcastle, which is about 2 hours away from Sydney. I did live in Sydney for two years, but rarely went into the main city. There is an import gaming store in the building where paddy's markets are, which is not far from central station. Its up in the main shopping centre part. But the things there a pretty expensive.

DasmosJune 05, 2011

I missed out on this because I was 200 points shy of 3000. Hopefully it comes back at some stage, I'll be keeping my stars just in case.

RABicleJune 05, 2011

Apparently it came back for a few days Dasmos and then sold out again. Fucken NAL.

Jet PilotJune 26, 2011

These do pop up on eBay every now and then.  In purchased a Japanese version several years ago for my US Wii (it works just fine across regions).  This is the best way to play VC games.  That adapter looks nice as well.  Cheaper too...I paid about $50 USD for the controller.  Worth every penny though.  It would be nice to have one in the NA SNES purple though, as that would be more true to my childhood memories.

GKJune 26, 2011

Quote from: Kytim89

http://www.amazon.com/Nintendo-Wii-4--Virtua-Retro-Adapter/dp/B003KMWMOW/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1307201809&sr=8-11

This adapter is much better for using the older controllers on the Wii. The advertisement says that it uses the SNES, NES, Genesis and N64 controllers, but I found that it will also use Master System controller due to it having the sam cable as the Genesis controller.

Ordered & got this one in the mail the other day. My N64 controller seems to have some buttons swapped when it comes to Sin & Punishment but other than that, it seems to work fine with NES & SNES controllers. Also the SNES controller actually works for Brawl.

infiniteneslivesAugust 01, 2011

Hey guys,

I just found out the site from one of the reporters here who's picking up my NES version of this controller.  I decided to check your site out and happened upon this article.  Thought I'd let you guys know that I make similar controllers if you're having a hard time getting your hands on the ones seen here.  I do lots of other custom work also you can check out my stuff here: http://www.infiniteneslives.com/products.php

Feel free to email me if you'd like,
Paul@InfiniteNesLives.com

Share + Bookmark





Genre
Developer Nintendo

Worldwide Releases

jpn: Wii SNES Classic Controller
Release Apr 2008
PublisherNintendo
eu: Wii SNES Classic Controller
Release Sep 14, 2010
PublisherNintendo
aus: Wii SNES Classic Controller
Release Year 2010
PublisherNintendo
Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement